CPD RULES for Lawyers of New South Wales

New South Wales lawyers must complete 10 CPD units each CPD year.

NSW lawyers must include at least one (1) CPD unit every year in each of the following fields:

  1. Ethics and Professional Responsibility
  2. Practice Management and Business skills
  3. Professional Skills
  4. Substantive Law


The CPD year runs from 1 April to 31 March in the following year.

Compliance with CPD is administered in accordance with the Legal Profession Uniform Continuing Professional Development (Solicitors) Rules 2015.

To find out more about the CPD rules, visit the website of the Law Society of NSW: